What Are The 2022 Wimbledon Tennis Championship Dates?

The 2022 Wimbledon Tennis Championships begin on Monday, June 27, 2022, and will end Sunday, July 10, 2022.

While it is expected the Tournament will return to  normal after its last two iterations were disrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic, there are some big changes to the running order of the 2022 Championships.

Wimbledon 2022 Centre Court Dates

Date Round
Monday, 27 June 2022 Singles 1st Round
Tuesday, 28 June 2022 Singles 1st Round
Wednesday, 29 June 2022 Singles 2nd Round
Thursday, 30 June 2022 Singles 2nd Round
Friday, 1 July 2022 Singles 3rd Round
Saturday, 2 July 2022 Singles 3rd Round
Sunday, 3 July 2022 Singles 4th Round
Monday, 4 July 2022 Singles 4th Round
Tuesday, 5 July 2022 Men’s and Ladies’ Quarter-Finals
Wednesday, 6 July 2022 Men’s and Ladies’ Quarter-Finals
Thursday, 7 July 2022 Ladies’ Semi Finals and Mixed Doubles Final
Friday, 8 July 2022 Men’s Semi-Finals
Saturday, 9 July 2022 Ladies’ Final and Men’s Doubles Final
Sunday, 10 July 2022 Men’s Final and Ladies’ Doubles Final

Wimbledon 2022 No. 1 Court Dates

 

Date Round
Monday, 27 June 2022 Singles 1st Round
Tuesday, 28 June 2022 Singles 1st Round
Wednesday, 29 June 2022 Singles 2nd Round
Thursday, 30 June 2022 Singles 2nd Round
Friday, 1 July 2022 Singles 3rd Round
Saturday, 2 July 2022 Singles 3rd Round
Sunday, 3 July 2022 Singles 4th Round
Monday, 4 July 2022 Singles 4th Round
Tuesday, 5 July 2022 Men’s and Ladies’ Quarter-Finals
Wednesday, 6 July 2022 Men’s and Ladies’ Quarter-Finals
Thursday, 7 July 2022 Various Doubles

End of the rest day

The most notable difference is that the 2022 Tournament will be played without a rest day. Historically, this rest day was the Middle Sunday.

Wimbledon’s rest day allowed players and the courts to take a breather from the busy tournament schedule.

To bring the Tournament’s program in line with the other three Grand Slam tournaments, Fourth Round matches will now be played during Middle Sunday and the second Monday.

The All England Lawn Tennis Club (AELTC) has also confirmed that guests who had originally secured a ticket for the 2020 ballot will get priority access to re-purchase those same tickets for the 2022 Tournament.

Middle Sunday ballot

A further ballot may take place in 2022 to sell tickets for matches scheduled on Wimbledon’s Middle Sunday.

Wimbledon’s infamous ‘Queue’ is also set to return following its absence in 2021.

Hopeful tennis fans will once again be able to purchase on-the-day tickets for The Championships by queueing. Only so many tickets are made available to the queue, which starts to form days ahead of the start of the Tournament.

Tennis fans will also be able to purchase Debenture Tickets online.

What time do the grounds open?

The Grounds will continue to open each day of The Championships at 10am. Play on the outside courts starts at 11am,  and on the Show Courts between 1pm and 1:30pm (except on the finals weekend, where Centre Court play starts at 2pm on Centre Court).

The Grounds usually close 45 minutes after the end of the last match of the day.